Wednesday, August 1, 2012

"New Rides Of The Furious Swampriders" compilation CD

A curious compilation here, arranged by German label Sireena Records, and the 4th in a series. Based on the inspiration of "swamp rock" and the Gun Club, the artists here pay homage to this influence, and it's pretty well a fun listen through and through.

Notables included here are Deborah Harry (with Chris Stein and Jeffrey Lee Pierce), Sixteen Horsepower, Lydia Lunch (with Dave Alvin and Kid Congo Powers), the Raymen, the Walkabouts, and a weird folky cover of Depeche Mode's "Enjoy The Silence" by German group M.Walking On The Water. A handful of mostly German groups round out the 14-track set, and, surprisingly, it's a pretty well cohesive set of darkly soulful swamp blues rockers. Jeffrey Lee Pierce would be proud of his "children" and friends here. (Sireena Records)

No comments: